Developing and Using Success Criteria & Rubrics to Evaluate and Improve Student Performance

Online​

Interactive live webinar 

January 28, 2022 (Friday)

Duration: 2 hours  

New York 7.00 am | London 12.00 pm

Dubai 4.00 pm | Shanghai / Singapore 8.00 pm

Your Time 


Individual
USD 150 per participant 

Group of 5 or more
USD 130 per participant

 

Led by:

Jay McTighe

Jay headshot.jpg

"Criterion-based tools, such as criterion-based performance lists and rubrics, can be used to improve student performance as well as evaluate it."

Jay McTighe is a veteran education, having served as a teacher, resource specialist, program coordinator, director of a state program for gifted students, and administrator for innovative programs at the Maryland Department of Education.

He is an accomplished author, having co-authored 18 books, including the award-winning and best-selling Understanding by Design series with Grant Wiggins. His books have been translated into fourteen languages.

Who Should Attend

This session has been designed for teachers (grades 1-12), administrators, curriculum leaders and instructional coaches.

        

Workshop Overview

In this workshop, we’ll examine the characteristics, advantages, and limitations of different types of scoring tools – criterion lists, holistic and analytic rubrics.

 

We’ll learn a practical and proven process for identifying success criteria and designing associated rubrics.

 

Finally, we’ll examine strategies for using scoring tools for instruction as well as evaluation. A collection of excellent web-based resources will be shared.

Topics Covered:

  • Role of criterion-based evaluation in standards-based education 

  • 3 types of criterion-based scoring tools – performance lists, holistic rubrics, and analytic rubrics (advantages and limitations of each)

  • Process for identifying success criteria and designing scoring rubrics

  • Using rubrics for evaluation and grading

  • Anchoring rubrics using “anchor” examples

  • Involving students in self-assessment based on success criteria

  • Web-based resources

Workshop Coordinator

Navin Pawa

navin@ksipd.com