Building Conceptual Understandings in Mathematics Through an Inquiry Approach

Online

4 interactive sessions - 2 hours per session 

(participant will receive certificate of completion of 8 PD hours at the end of the workshop)

Thursdays: May 13, 20, 27 and June 3 2021 

 

London 9.30 am |  Dubai 12.30pm

Bangkok 3.30pm | Adelaide 6.00 pm

Your Time

register by May 10, 2021  

Baht 13500 per participant per webinar (≈USD 432)

(limited seats - not more than 20 participants)

 

Led by:

Meredith Page

Target Audience

Primary Teachers, Curriculum Coordinators and Learning Needs teachers

Workshop Goals

  • Explore how we can develop mathematically empowered and curious learners.

  • Explore how we might further develop our skills as teachers who are prepared to embrace thinking conceptually about mathematics.

  • Reflect on our own beliefs and practices regarding the teaching and learning of mathematics.

Topics Covered

Session 1. May 13, 2021

Teachers as inquirers of mathematical concepts.

Session 2. May 20, 2021

Inquiring dispositions and ways to foster them in learners.

 

Session 3. May 27, 2021

Pt 1 Building conceptual understandings in mathematics through an inquiry approach.

 

Session 4. June 3, 2021

Pt 2 Building conceptual understandings in mathematics through an inquiry approach.

 

Structure of Sessions

Pre session activity

Task may involve watching a video or reading a short article/blog and reflection. Work on a mathematical task yourself and/or with your students and reflect on the mathematical learning/thinking involved (first session pre task emailed 5-6 days prior to session 1)

Part A: (60mins)

Presenter input + breakout groups + presenter input + short task/breakout groups

 

Break: (10mins)

 

Part B: (50mins)

Presenter input + breakout groups + collaboration/sharing + presenter input

 

You may be asked before a session to have some simple equipment with you during the session such as counters, tape measure, small scales etc. things you would very likely have at school or home.

Workshop Facilitator

Meredith Page has many years’ experience in facilitating professional learning for teachers. She has led many workshops in Australia for the Association of Independent Schools in SA and written and led workshops in Australia and South America for MLATS. As well as in the Asia Pacific region for the International Baccalaureate Organisation.

Her latest role as a Curriculum Coordinator includes challenging and supporting

teachers to think more conceptually across all learning areas so they can create

authentic opportunities for student inquiry.

Workshop Coordinator

Navin Pawa

Navin@ksipd.com