Engaging Boy Writers

Online​

One live session

Duration: 90 minutes 

(participants will receive a certificate of participation at the end of the workshop)

Date​

March 23, 2022 (Wednesday)

Time

Thailand 9.00 am|Singapore 10.00 am| Sydney 1.00 pm

Discover Your Time 


Individual
USD 150 per participant 

Group of 5 or more 
USD 125 per participant

 

Led by:

Ralph Fletcher

Ralph Fetcher photo.jpg

"Data shows that boy writers lag girl writers by a significant margin. We need to better engage boy writers."

Ralph Fletcher has written many books on the teaching of writing including "Boy Writers: Reclaiming Their Voices (Stenhouse)"His young adult novel Uncle Daddy won a Christopher Medal in the Books for Young People, ages 10–12 category in 2002.

Fig Pudding, a young adult chapter book by Fletcher, was recommended as one of the ten best books of 1995 by the American Library Association.  Fletcher's poetry book I Am Wings was chosen by School Library Journal as one of their best books of 1994.

Who Should Attend

Educators K-12 

Knowledge & Skills

  • Why do boys struggle with writing? 

  • What are unique skills do boy writers have...and what special challenges?

  • How can we widen the circle to make our writing classrooms boy-friendlier?

Topics covered

  • Choice

  • Humor in writing

  • Violence in writing

Additional reading:

Girls read and write better than boys, finds study

It’s My Write: Girls More Fluent, Thoughtful in Writing Process than Boys on Essay Tests

Workshop Coordinator

Navin Pawa

navin@ksipd.com