The What? Why? and How? of Effective Classroom and School Assessment

Online

Interactive live webinar 

September 21, 2021 (Tuesday)

Duration: 2 hours  

London 12.00 pm |  Dubai 3.00 pm

Singapore 7.00pm | Sydney 9.00 pm

Your Time 

(register by September 20, 2021)  
Individual

USD 150 per participant 

Group of 5 or more
USD 130 per participant 

 

Led by:

Jay McTighe

Who Should Attend

This session has been designed for teachers (grades 1-12), administrators, curriculum leaders, assessment specialists, and instructional coaches interested in assessment.        

Workshop Overview

Effective assessment is integral to effective schooling and is a central element of the Understanding by Design® framework.  However, assessment practices vary widely in quality, across teachers and schools.

 

A more systematic approach can improve practice. Internationally-renowned author and consultant, Jay McTighe, will share ideas from his most recent book, Assessing Learning in the Classroom – By Design (Teachers College Press, 2021).

 

He will present five underlying assessment principles and examine a set of fundamental questions about the What?, Why? and How? of effective assessment.

Knowledge & Skills

Topics Covered:

  • Five principles of effective assessment

  • Essential questions to consider when planning and using classroom or school-level assessments

  • Four types of learning goals that impact assessment

  • Various assessment purposes – Diagnostic, Formative and Evaluative 

  • A framework of the various assessment methods for gathering evidence of student learning

  • A 3-part model for a more honest and communicative approach to grading

  • Curriculum Mapping 3.0 – a new conception for today’s  schooling

By the end of the session, participants will be equipped with knowledge & skills to answer the following:​

  • What are the qualities of effective assessment?

  • How do different types of learning goals affect what and how we assess?

  • What are various purposes for assessment?

  • Through what assessment methods should we gather evidence of student learning?

  • How might we envision a more honest and communicative approach to grading?

  • What is wrong with most curriculum maps? How can curriculum mapping be updated?

Workshop Facilitator

Jay McTighe is a veteran education, having served as a teacher, resource specialist, program coordinator, director of a state program for gifted students, and administrator for innovative programs at the Maryland Department of Education.

He is an accomplished author, having co-authored 18 books, including the award-winning and best-selling Understanding by Design series with Grant Wiggins. His books have been translated into fourteen languages.

Workshop Coordinator

Navin Pawa

navin@ksipd.com