Children as Experts in their Play

Online

3 Interactive live webinars 

September 21, 22, 24, 2021 (Tue, Wed, Fri)

Duration: 90 minutes per session

Dubai 7:00 am l Thailand 10:00 am

Singapore 11.00 am | Sydney 1.00 pm

Your Time 

(register by September 15, 2021)  
USD 450 per participant 
(this is a 'bring your friend' workshop meaning 2 participants can attend for the price of one)

 

Led by:

Jennifer Wong-Powell 

Who Should Attend

Early Childhood Educators

Workshop overview:

When we view young children as capable, knowledgeable and agentic learners, we know they can develop, express and represent their play intentions.

 

Essential are the skills to notice and value children’s ideas, thinking, questions and theories so we can bring them into the process of planning for their play and reflecting so play can be maintained, renewed and extended.

Knowledge & Skills

This series of sessions will address the following questions:

  • What makes play distinct?

  • What is the process of play?

  • What is our involvement as adults in children’s play?

  • How do we observe children at play? 

  • How do we involve children in the planning of their play?

  • How do children develop higher levels of play?

Topic covered:

Session #1

  • Images of childhood

  • Principles of play

  • Play as process

Session #2

  • Images of the teacher

  • Facilitative roles in play

  • Observation of children’s play 

 

Session #3

  • Play conversations

  • Powerful questions

Workshop Facilitator

There is an urgency to restore play in early childhood education and this is what Jennifer is passionate about.

 

Jennifer prioritizes opportunities for sustained, uninterrupted time for play.

 

In a world of both unimaginable opportunities and great uncertainty, she believes that restoring play in education is key for children to be able to develop the character and competencies needed to face what the future holds.

 

Jennifer is the founder of JWP Consulting - Inspired by Children, offering workshops, consulting, and publications dedicated to improving the early experiences of children in school.

Workshop Coordinator

Navin Pawa

navin@ksipd.com