Designing and Using Authentic Performance Tasks and Projects

Online

Interactive live webinar 

August 26, 2021 (Thursday)

Duration: 2 hours  

London 12.00 pm |  Dubai 3.00 pm

Singapore 7.00pm | Sydney 9.00 pm

Your Time 

(register by August 23, 2021)  
Individual

USD 150 per participant 

Group of 5 or more
USD 130 per participant 

 

Led by:

Jay McTighe

Who Should Attend

This session has been designed for teachers (grades 1-12), administrators, curriculum leaders and instructional coaches interested in the development and use of authentic performance tasks and projects.        

Workshop Overview

Authentic performance tasks give us evidence of students’ understanding and ability to apply their learnings, and they are a key element in the Understanding by Design® framework. Authentic performance tasks and projects can engage students in meaningful learning while also providing assessment evidence of important learning outcomes, including 21st century skills.

Knowledge & Skills

Topics Covered:

  • Characteristics of quality performance tasks

  • Four practical and proven design tools for creating authentic performance tasks and projects

  • Performance tasks and projects variables

  • Allowing “voice and choice” for students; differentiating tasks and projects

  • Web-based resources

By the end of the session, participants will be equipped with knowledge & skills to answer the following:​

  • What are the characteristics of quality performance tasks?

  • How can I apply practical and proven design tools to create authentic performance tasks and projects?

  • What are key variables that differentiate various tasks and projects?

  • How might I provide students with appropriate “voice and choice” in tasks and projects?

  • Where can I find quality examples and resources? 

Workshop Facilitator

Jay McTighe is a veteran education, having served as a teacher, resource specialist, program coordinator, director of a state program for gifted students, and administrator for innovative programs at the Maryland Department of Education.

He is an accomplished author, having co-authored 18 books, including the award-winning and best-selling Understanding by Design series with Grant Wiggins. His books have been translated into fourteen languages.

Jay has also written more than 50 book chapters, articles and blogs, and been published in leading journals, including Educational Leadership (ASCD), Edutopia and Education Week. Jay has an extensive background in professional development and is a regular speaker at state, national and international conferences.

He has made presentations in 47 states within the United States, in 7 Canadian provinces, and internationally in 38 countries on six continents.

Workshop Coordinator

Navin Pawa

navin@ksipd.com